Accessibility in ClassicPress

Hi there!

My name is Marco. I am a blind developer, author, support person, accessibility advocate and a couple of other attributes mixed bag people like me tend to accumulate over the years.

I came here in search for a solution to an increasing problem blind authors are facing: The way WordPress is moving away from any form of good accessibility especially with the block editor. They now also announced that they’ll stop supporting the classic editor plugin by the end of 2021. Many of my blind author friends are afraid that they’ll no longer be able to publish efficiently and without major frustration from that point on. So I am trying to help them look for a solution.

A friend then pointed out ClassicPress to me. So here I am, investigating, checking things out. I had been a WordPress user for many years, but all that Gutenberg calamity finally drove me away from the platform.

My main question is: WordPress 4.9 had a couple of accessibility issues in the admin area, and only a few themes actually met the WCAG 2.1 AA guidelines. Has there been any room in the ClassicPress project to keep up with fixes to the WordPress “classic” admin area with regards to accessibility fixes, like color contrast adjustments, or the introduction of some of the other fixes like dedicated and properly accessible “Close” buttons for the toast notifications that appear after several actions? I know there were a number of fixes made to WP Core after 4.9. Would there be any interest, if not already done, to migrate this work to ClassicPress if possible?

Thanks for reading!

Marco

10 Likes

Welcome to ClassicPress! We would absolutely welcome help in migrating any such improvements over to ClassicPress.

3 Likes