Trying out ClassicPress

Hi guys. I’m trying out ClassicPress, to see if it will work out for me. I’m so glad that there is this alternative to WordPress.

Anyway, I have some important questions. What WordPress membership plugin works best with ClassicPress? What would you recommend? I’m presently looking at s2Member. Is it a good fit for CP? Can I depend on it for a long time?

Please know that I’m not a developer. Just a regular WordPress user :grinning:

@anon98749105 Hi. I am using WP-Members Membership Plugin – WordPress plugin | WordPress.org on a couple of my sites and have had no problems.

2 Likes

@Aussie Thank you. I will look into it :slight_smile:

1 Like

I used s2Member for years. In fact, that’s how I got into coding. But the original and the other main developer sold the plugin when they got jobs with Automattic (that was a condition of employment) and the current owner (who used to do their customer support and is actually a really nice guy) is a bit overwhelmed as quite a bit of the codebase needs updating. So I wouldn’t recommend it now.

But note that WP Members (which is indeed a good program) works in a fundamentally different way from s2Member. In particular, it doesn’t protect all content on posts, but allows a teaser to be visible (just as many newspaper sites do it). If that’s what you are looking for, it’s great. But if you want to run fully locked down pages (like an intranet or a fully secured membership club) then WP Members won’t be the best choice. For such purposes, I’d suggest Simple Membership – WordPress plugin | WordPress.org

1 Like

@timkaye So that was what happened with s2Member. I spent quite some time today in their forum reading about the lack of updates and unresponsiveness of the developers back in 2018.

Anyway, I checked your recommendation, but the problem is Simple Membership no longer supports WP 4.9. Minimum is WP 5.0.

How about this one?