David Artiss recommends blocking CP for developers

Just saw this on David Artiss’ blog. Only his opinion, but is disturbing nonetheless.

According to his blog, David Artiss is an Enterprise Happiness Engineer at Automattic, working on the WordPress VIP team. He provides front-line support to enterprise clients.

He is a WordCamp speaker and volunteer as well as a long-time contributor to WordPress, having assisted with Core, Documentation, Support and WordPress.TV

He is also the author of a number of free WordPress plugins.

In essence, he says:

"As a plugin developer, I donate my time and energies to the WordPress community. I make it clear that I don’t support anyone modifying my code or running it on a non-standard variation of WordPress – this includes forks.

Although not the most popular WordPress fork, ClassicPress is getting a lot of publicity and interest at the moment. And for those developers who may wish to detect and, even, block use of this fork, ClassicPress themselves have made this something that is easy to achieve."

I find it interesting that he has disabled comments for that particular post :grinning:

2 Likes

Maybe he should watch this.

“Classic”. Excuse the pun.

I think that guy is Dedoimedo, who does reviews for Linux distros for example. He has a wicked sense of humour and really says what he thinks about them.

Definitely a market for budding entrepreneurs to make money by installing the classic editor plugin to “fix” websites :grinning: