Draft Theme Directory Guidelines

Draft of the Theme Guidelines based off the plugin ones. I’m not a theme expert so welcome any feedback from theme developers and others.

The ClassicPress Theme Directory is intended to be a safe one-stop source for all ClassicPress compatible themes for all types of user, from the non-technical end-user to the developer.

The following rules are intended to provide transparency around the theme submission process for developers who submit their themes to the directory; further the rules aim to provide consistency and a level playing field for all developers.

If you have suggestions on improving the rules, or questions about them, please contact the theme moderators at [email protected].

• All developers, users with commit access and all who officially support a theme are expected to follow the ClassicPress Theme Directory Rules.

• All developers will ensure their contact information is accurate and up-to-date.
  • Developers must take a security first approach to their themes and ensure their themes are as secure as possible.
  • It is strongly recommended that additional functionality such as sliders, shortcodes, custom post types and so on, be available in recommended or bundled plugins rather than in the theme itself as themes should handle appearance rather than functionality.
  • Themes may not contact external servers without explicit and authorized opt-in consent from the user. Documentation on how user data is collected and used must be included in the theme’s readme along with a clearly stated privacy policy.
    • Integration with update servers which allow themes to update to new versions (such as Update Manager) is not included in this rule, but update services must not collect identifiable.
  • Free/Freemium/Premium themes are all welcome in the ClassicPress Theme Directory, but must be clearly identified as such in the description. Software-as-a-Service must be categorized as a Premium theme.