Dumb Ideas Dept : Hosting

So had a dumb idea, but hey, if you don’t ask …

I see lots of questions on hosting and they seem to fall into the following:
1 - I want to host with but they auto update classic press to wordpress and I cant stop them
2 - I am not a techie and need hosting … help.

Considering CP is designed to keep WP in a format originally designed to allow Jo(e) average to manage their own blogs without tech skills - wouldn’t i make sense to set up bespoke hosting, especially for CP? the sort of thing someone like SiteGround does, but geared to CP.

One upside to this is it would possibly be a revenue source to bridge the 500k gap between $needed and $ raised for the dev of CP.

This hosting would be fully managed ( updates, speed, security, firewall, disk management etc) but would avoid DNS / email to start with - just simply hosts CP.

Thoughts?

2 Likes

It’s definitely something we’d like to see! Are you thinking of providing this?

1 Like

Great idea. I hope someone decides to do this. Actually, it needs to be a team. Twice I’ve lost content because a tech let me down.

One lost a year (and it would be the one year I published every day) and then just flaked - ghosted me completely. I tried to manually restore the content but never did get it all back up.

No problems with the next tech, but he quit managing sites to run his friend’s business when the friend was incapacitated.

Moved my site to a person who is a WordPress expert. Told him I really needed great backups because I’d lost an entire year’s worth of content once and didn’t want to deal with that again.

He managed to not have a single good backup for THREE YEARS worth of content. Instead of dealing with that head-on, he ghosted me. Fortunately, I knew another tech who was friends with him and he gave him access or I wouldn’t have anything except the 3 year old backup I originally sent him.