Hash passwords with bcrypt instead of md5

WP uses md5 with key stretching to hash passwords. This is moderately secure, but using bcrypt instead would be significantly more secure. (Argon2 might be even better, but I have no experience with it, whereas I have been using bcrypt for a couple of years, so I know it works fine.)

WP hasn’t done this because it supports PHP versions lower than 5.5. Since we have already agreed to drop support for versions of PHP below 5.6, we should be in a position to implement this. See PHP: password_hash - Manual

Read-only archive: Issues · ClassicPress/ClassicPress · GitHub

Author: Tim Kaye

Vote count: 76

Tags:

• request-modify-feature

Comments

1 Like

So what’s the current state of password hashing? We’ve used bcrypt on websites we manage for a few years now. There’s now Argon2 (PHP 7.2) and Argon2id (PHP 7.3).

Can we introduce stronger algorithms based on user’s PHP version? If we detect 7.2 and up, we use Argon2. Anything below that would fall back on the current method. As we move forward and drop support for older PHP versions, Argon2 would eventually become the default without the need to check PHP version.

Good reading on the topic from the Delicious Brains team.

One way or another, we should improve password encryption.

This can be dangerous for people downgrading PHP version. Like: try php 8… password are converted… something is not working well… back to 7 and password are lost. Not a common scenario but…

1 Like

This would actually be fairly common, I think. For example:

1. Site upgrades to PHP 8 for testing/evaluation
  2. One or more users are created
  3. Errors are discovered and the site is downgraded back to PHP 7.x while they can be fixed
  4. The users created in step 2 are no longer able to log in

As @viktor said, the available encryption methods are expanded for sites using PHP 7.2 or above. Moving to PHP 8 doesn’t add any new alternatives.