Looking for an honest opinion

… because I know I will find it in here :slightly_smiling_face:

I’ve been with CP since a few days before the massive WP upheaval. I’m a photographer and although I love my web site, it was built over a long time with a lot of trial and error. I never professed to understand what was going on with WP and I’ve been much happier here. Until I read the post on the CP Club about Elementor. Now I don’t understand that either, but it doesn’t sound good. I appreciate that you are working to develop themes and plugins, but my guess is that isn’t going to help someone like me who relies on themes like Photocrati, or plugins like NextGen.

So I’m at a crossroads again. All I really want to do is to get out with my camera, blog about my adventures and keep my site in good order. I will be honest and say that in spite of the size (over 300 pages), I would do whatever is necessary to keep it that way.

I think my questions are:
Do you envisage a problem with a site like mine using CP in the future?
If the answer to that is yes, then I may prefer to move back to WP now and do what has to be done.
If I did move back, what things would be involved? Would I have to edit every page to put all the content in blocks? I would if necessary, I just need to understand.
Is there a chance moving could break my site?
I use BackupBuddy and run it every time I blog or add new images. Would that be enough to mend it again?
Do you think there are any more WP horrors on the horizon?

I really don’t want to move. This is the sort of community that WP should have been. I hate what they’ve done and I worry about changes they will continue to make in the future. If you think I could carry on in here, then feel free to say. This is my web site so you have an idea of the work involved http://elements.uk.com/wordpress/

3 Likes