More Blogging Themes, Please

Just a suggestion for theme developers…one thing that has bugged me about WordPress for a while is a lack of simple blogging themes. Yes, there are a few out there, but the majority of themes available are so niche-y and overdone. Personally, I find certain design trends a bit tedious, namely masonry, alternating featured images and asymmetrical lines. Ugh! Just give us some simple themes that are lightweight, attractive and use nice typography.

I completely understand the need for business themes, but the blogging side of things is underrepresented, IMO, especially with so many people leaving social media.

OK. /rant over :wink:

6 Likes

I’m not an expert on themes by any means, but can you point us towards a couple of lightweight, no-nonsense examples that you like for blogging?

@janelockwood Not sure what makes a theme good for simple blogging other than it not being a niche theme design…? A lot of the default WordPress themes look pretty boring and more on the side of “too simple”, well at least to me.

Myself I keep to my own blank canvas starter theme with everything in it, which I then “skin” with new images/styles/typography for each project… There are enough basic in-built controls now to do that, but it would be nice to make even the “blank” canvas prettier. Also having some pre-made skins at some stage would be a cool in-between step though.

It would be cool to have some “default” themes for ClassicPress (to move away from the twenty-x series) but I’m not sure when that will happen, and what the criteria for that would be… worth discussing those sooner though.

Here is one I found: Blog Kit

It’s simple and made just for blogging. The only thing I would change is the buttons (make them an outline instead of solid), but that’s a minor gripe.

I’m currently using Atomic Blocks, and I like it, but it really needs a sidebar option.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Have a look at the very new Amble from RoughPixels: