Newbie trying to get bearings

Hi, I’m a complete newb to ClassicPress but been using WordPress for about a decade. Gutenberg has me worried older legacy client sites will break, and now that I’m working a FT job I don’t have time to master Gutenberg and try to trouble-shoot it with all the plugins I’ve used over the years and all the client sites I’ve accumulated and I’m worried about WP discontinuing the Classic Editor at some point or forcing out a 5.0 update.

I’ve never staged demo sites on other servers before and always just installed WP and then got to work creating sites, researching SEO, writing content, doing the design and working with clients.

Is it possible to install ClassicPress on a database as I would WP or a way to do it using FTP so I could test it on a demo site?

Also, if I get a broken client site when Gutenberg comes out is there any way to install ClassicPress into that somehow?

I know these are kind of silly questions and I’m embarrassed to be a newbie here after so much time working with WP and on the client-end of things but I really like the potential alternative and want to learn as much as possible as quickly as possible so I know how to handle issues that are sure to arise.

Thanks to whoever responds.

There are a couple of ways you can install ClassicPress. You can install it using FTP and going through the activate process as you normally would with Wordpress. If you are more comfortable installing WP you can always install the migration plugin and migrate the site to ClassicPress. For other ways to install ClassicPress I recommend checking out our docs site: Installing ClassicPress | ClassicPress Documentation

The migration plugin is your best bet here, although right now we only support 4.9.x for migration.

No need to be embarrassed, we are all here to help and there are no silly questions as others may be wondering the same thing :slight_smile:

Thanks for the response.