Plugin dev help needed for possible dedicated CP plugin

I have made a fork of a small email logging plugin for my own use. I pruned out all the upsells to the pro version and simplified it in places, and it’s working nicely on all my sites. Code is here: https://github.com/simplycomputing/sc-email-log

I would be happy to make this a dedicated CP plugin and let others use it, but I am not a developer and I’m not confident in releasing this out to a wider audience. In particular, some of the reservations I have are:

1. I have cleaned out some code but I’m sure there’s other stuff that could be removed and tidied up.
  2. I don’t know about security issues so can’t tell if the original code was secure, or even well-written.
  3. If someone reported an issue I would have no idea where to start looking to fix it.
  4. It works at the moment with CP but I wouldn’t be able to fix any future compatibility issues.

So, I’m just wondering if there is some developer who would volunteer to help with the technical side of this. I can push updates (it is managed by codepotent’s Update Manager) and do any necessary leg work, but I don’t have the coding skills to feel able to put this out. So I would need a dev to look it over and possibly clean it up, then be available for the occasional questions down the track.

Or, if there is a plugin developer who wants to take it on as their own project then by all means go for it. :kissing:

The plugin logs all the emails sent by ClassicPress. It has a dashboard widget showing the number of emails saved, and a feature to set a limit and notify admin when it’s time for a clean-up. Some screenshots:

8 Likes

I’ll take a look at it over the weekend.

4 Likes

Interesting, this is very useful and I even made a petition for one: Issues · ClassicPress/ClassicPress · GitHub