Tracking plugin installations and versions

@Simone and I have been chatting a bit about the Update Manager plugin and agree that it would be helpful to know where and what versions of our plugins are installed. I didn’t implement this initially as it seemed like it could be a GDPR concern. However, I’m not an expert at GDPR. I’m not sure if this data constitutes personally identifiable information (PII,) whether it would need controls to opt-out and/or remove data, etc. Any feedback and discussion is appreciated. To be clear, this isn’t planned, at this point – this is more of a discovery phase to see if this is even viable/permissible.

2 Likes

I am not a GDPR expert either, but I don’t see the IP address of the website and version of the plugin falling under personally identifiable information.

If you were logging the end users IP (a user of said website) then that would likely fall under personally identifiable information. Though, you could argue you are saving the IP information for “security purposes” meaning you can collect that data but have to document why, and how you will delete said data in a reasonable time frame.

2 Likes

It’s not the IP address of the server but the host name (exactly get_bloginfo('url')) because of shared hosting.
As a fallback we can use the host name and save just it’s MD5.
Other info could be plugin version, PHP version, CP version, locale.

2 Likes

I would think saving the MD5 would be sufficient, but maybe @timkaye can offer some other insights :slight_smile:

GDPR, the gift that keeps on giving :wink:

3 Likes

I haven’t followed this discussion so, for the moment at least, I can only address the specific point Wade raised.

I’m afraid the IP address of a website on which a plugin is being used definitely is personally identifiable information. GDPR includes info that, when connected to other info, can help identify someone.

4 Likes