6 sites migrated, no issues - 2 big bad ones to go

So… yeah. I’m not particularly code-savvy, so I admit that I’m finding all this a bit anxiety-provoking. I’m an indie writer/novelist, not a site designer or dev.

So far, I’ve used the plugin to migrate 6 sites from WordPress 4.9.9 to ClassicPress. All worked seamlessly, no plugin conflicts, no errors at all. Since one of those is my primary site for my writing, it’s a relief, to say the least! It was much more painless and easy than I was halfway braced for.

I used gtmetrix.com to check the speeds before and after. There’s enough variation and a small enough average before-and-after difference to make it less than dramatic, but I can confidently say that they’re all running at least as quickly as before and possibly a bit faster. These are very minimalist sites - for the most part, they’re places for me to post chapters of serials - and that’s a comparison against 4.9.9, not 5.0.x.

I also apparently need to have a word with the hosting company since we’re at PHP 5.6.39 which I gather is bad? (Sorry, like I said, not great at the tech end.)

I have two sites left to migrate, and they’re both a bit more scary. One is a very old personal blog that has, over time, gone from b2evolution to wordpress.com to being self-hosted in WP, big and clunky and slow and relatively media-heavy, but if it crashes, well, the traffic is low these days. If that one has issues I won’t be surprised.