A balance between CP's past and its future

As some of you may know, I’m in the processing of creating and planning a blog about web publishing, and one of the platforms that I’m going to feature in my articles and tutorials is ClassicPress.

Now, I’m new to this community, and I’m not a developer, and I’ve only been using WordPress (via WordPress/com) since 2017. And so I don’t know much about the history of WP and CP, and I can only imagine the griefs that our developers have (had) against Automattic and the WordPress project. Personally, as a user, my only real grievance against WordPress is the enforced use of the block editor.

I’m writing this post because I want to know what the community really thinks and feels about pushing progress for ClassicPress. Because it seems to me that there are those who truly wants to push development for CP with little regard to WP, but there are also those who are conservative about development and are careful about breaking changes and departing too much from WP.

As for me, I tend to be conservative. Yes, I do want progress for CP, but not at the cost of disregarding the rich heritage that we’ve inherited from WordPress (and not just the code, but the culture and way of doing things). After all, parts of our promotion for CP is that it is “instantly familiar” and (for CP 1.x) a drop-in replacement for WordPress 4.9. And even when we reach CP 2.x and start going our own way, I don’t think that we can or ought to divest CP of the things that make it (and WP) unique and useful to many people.

My point of view in this matter is that ClassicPress simply cannot completely divorce itself from WordPress, and so instead of trying to deny that fact, we should just embrace it and make our own future in the light of it.