Add Option To Turn Off wpautop

Before I start my petition, I’ve seen one petition that does not focus in one feature, but multiple features. Plus, some commenters in one thread suggest disabling wpautop (use your browser’s Find feature to look for “wpautop”), however wpautop does have its uses when writing using a visual text editor. As an experienced web developer, I don’t use a visual text editor, so why would I need wpautop enabled if I’m only writing HTML code?

I can’t post more than 2 links as I’m a new user. For the two threads I was talking about, my apologies but you may have to search for threads that mention the wpautop function. I wanted to post a link to my tweets that started before I start my petition.

What Am I Trying To Accomplish?

I want to see an option to disable wpautop. Disabling visual text editor in the Your Profile should disable wpautop. I tried disabling wpautop in functions.php inside my custom theme folder but mine does not work. See my tweets for details. And yes, I use a plugin called “Toggle wpautop,” but that functionality should be built into ClassicPress. I simply want to create a petition for this one feature that I don’t use.

Looking through the plugin, I saw the PHP code for disabling wpautop:

/**
                 * Add or remove the wpautop filter
                 * @access public
                 * @param  mixed $post Current Post Object.
                 * @return void
                 */
                public function the_post( $post ) {
                        if ( get_post_meta( $post->ID, '_lp_disable_wpautop', true ) ) {
                                remove_filter( 'the_content', 'wpautop' );
                                remove_filter( 'the_excerpt', 'wpautop' );
                        } // ...

When comparing against my code in my custom theme’s functions.php:

<?php
remove_filter( ‘the_content’, ‘wpautop’ );
remove_filter( ‘the_excerpt’, ‘wpautop’ );