Major update to NextGen galleries

I’m not technical at all, but an e-mail from NextGen today has made me wonder if I should update, or leave well alone. It’s probably better if I copy the text below. I would appreciate it if anyone has any thoughts or advice please.

Hi Lesley

My name is Scott Wyden Kivowitz, the Chief Community Officer here at Imagely.

Today I am sharing with you a very important notice about NextGEN Gallery, NextGEN Plus, and NextGEN Pro.

Today we released an update to all three of our plugins and we strongly encourage you to update immediately. Here is why.

On December 8th, 2020, WordPress 5.6 will be released and updating one of its core third-party libraries, jQuery, from version 1.12.4 to 3.5.1.

This is a significant change that will affect all WordPress plugins & themes. WordPress 5.7, which is currently scheduled sometime in March 2021, will include more jQuery-related changes. WordPress is quickly moving forward to take advantage of the latest technologies, which is excellent news for everyone in the Imagely community.

The latest version of NextGEN Gallery, NextGEN Plus, and NextGEN Pro are up-to-date and ready for WordPress 5.6 and 5.7.

Again, because of this, we encourage everyone in the Imagely community to update immediately to the latest versions, available in your account area:
• NextGEN Gallery - v3.4.0
• NextGEN Plus - v1.7.0
• NextGEN Pro - v3.1.0
Thank you for your continued support and ongoing feedback as we make our products even better.

Scott Wyden Kivowitz

I’m assuming that you’re using ClassicPress, so are concerned whether these updated plugins will continue to work on CP, which will continue to use jQuery version 1.12.4.