Forking Genesis

Continuing discussion from Genesis 3.2.1 Update Errors with Old Versions of WP/CP - #12 by marmstrong14

I’m currently considering (once I’m done with Storefront :wink: ) going down this route if there’s enough interests for a fork!

A warning though: I’m a very opinionated dev when it comes to what a theme should and shouldn’t do. So if I was to fork Genesis the first thing out of the door will be the SEO code - for me that’s plugin territory and does not belong in a theme!

8 Likes

Hi, zulfgani!

Nice to meet you. :slight_smile: That would be amazing!

I have no problem with that at all. I can be pretty opinionated myself. LOL! I know what I like and don’t like. As it stands, I think Genesis has become quite bloated with a bunch of functions that should’ve remained in plugins. From what I’ve observed, the current version of Genesis seems to have merged the Genesis Simple Edits plugin with the Framework. That annoyed the fire out of me, and it is why I’m using 2.10.1 for my framework and using 2.2.2 as my jumping off point for my custom theme.

6 Likes

Yes, I am interested. As I said, I froze Genesis on 2.10.1 version. Now it works on ClassicPress well, but I scared about security updates.

Yes, SEO is a plugin territory, but, contrary to @marmstrong14 I use Genesis Simple Edits plugin everywhere :slight_smile:

Also, I will contact Dynamik Website Builder developer with a question about CP support. If Genesis will be forked, the support of Dynamik will brighten our lives considerably. Yes, I think, that Dynamik is the best website builder for non coders.

3 Likes

Likewise @marmstrong14 :slight_smile:

1 vote counts as 10 upvotes so we shall run with it :+1:

3 Likes

Good to hear that :slight_smile:

Once it all gets going we shall discus all these issues, address them and do the utmost to maintain security as well as the good (features in plugin formats if necessary).

6 Likes